

# The 2003 IEEE/WIC International Conference on Intelligent Agent Technology – IAT 2003



Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society and Web Intelligence Consortium The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax, Canada, Oct, 13-16, 2003

**Organizing Chairs** China Tieyong Zuo Xiaoming Liu China **Conference** Chair Ning Zhong Japan **Conference Co-Chairs** Canada Nick Cercone Ruqian Lu China Toyoaki Nishida Japan **Program Chair** HK SAR Jiming Liu **Program Co-Chairs** Switzerland Boi Faltings Matthias Klusch Germany Chunnian Liu China **Industry Track Chairs** Jianchang Mao USA Yiming Ye USA Lizhu Zhou China **Workshop Chairs** Canada Cory Butz Zhongzhi Shi China Yiyu Yao Canada **Tutorial Chairs** Jeffrey Bradshaw USA Jinglong Wu Japan **Publicity and Web Chair** Yiu-Ming Cheung HK SAR Local Arrangement Chair Baocai Yin China Local Arrangement Co-Chairs Zunan Cai China Xiuli Du China Yongli Xing China

**IEEE-CS-TCCI** Chair USA Xindong Wu WIC Co-Chairs/Directors Ning Zhong Japar HK SAR Jiming Liu WIC Advisory Board Edward A. Feigenbaum USA Setsuo Ohsuga Japan Benjamin Wah USA USA Philip Yu USA L.A. Zadeh WIC Technical Committee Nick Cercone Canada The Netherlands Dieter Fensel Georg Gottlob Austria Lakhmi Jain Australia USA W. Lewis Johnson USA Jianchang Mao Toyoaki Nishida Japan Xindong Wu USA Yiyu Yao Canada

#### **Program Committee**

Joanna J. Bryson (UK) Hans-Dieter Burkhard (Germany) Andrew Byde (UK) Brahim Chaib-draa (Canada) Kwok-Wai Cheung (HK SAR) Helder Coelho (Portugal) Stephen Cranefield (New Zealand) Kerstin Dautenhahn (UK) Yves Demazeau (France) Frank Dignum (The Netherlands) Barbara Dunin-Keplicz (Poland) Adam Maria Gadomski (Italv) Joseph Giampapa (USA) Fausto Giunchiglia (Italy) Marie-Pierre Gleizes (France) Vladimir Gorodetsky (Russia)

# **CALL FOR PAPERS**

The 2003 IEEE/WIC International Conference on Intelligent Agent Technology (IAT 2003) is jointly held with the 2003 IEEE/WIC International Conference on Web Intelligence (WI 2003). **The IEEE/WIC 2003 joint conferences** are sponsored and organized by IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Computational Intelligence (TCCI) and by Web Intelligence Consortium (WIC). The upcoming meeting in this conference series follows the great success of IAT-99 held in Hong Kong in 1999 and IAT-01 held in Maebashi City, Japan in 2001. The aim of IAT 2003 is to bring together researchers and practitioners from diverse fields, such as computer science, information technology, business, education, human factors, systems engineering, and robotics to (1) examine the design principles and performance characteristics of various approaches in intelligent agent technology, and (2) increase the cross-fertilization of ideas on the development of autonomous agents and multiagent systems among different domains. By encouraging idea-sharing and discussions on the underlying logical, cognitive, physical, and biological foundations as well as the enabling technologies, and new tools for building a variety of embodiments of agent-based systems.

The areas to be addressed include, but not limited to:

Applications	
Distributed Intelligence	
Learning and Self-Adapting Agents	
Data and Knowledge Management Agents	
Autonomy-Oriented Computation (AOC) Paradigm	
Computational Models, Architecture, and Infrastructure	
of full papers: March 20, 2003 Workshop and tutorial proposal submission:	June

ctronic submission of full papers: Mar	ch 20, 2003	Workshop and tutorial propo
th research track and industry track)		Camera-ready copies of acce
ification of paper acceptance:	May 2003	Notification of workshops a
th research treats and industry treats)		Conforman & workshops/tw

### (Both research track and industry track)

Flec

(Bof

Noti

 Workshop and tutorial proposal submission: June 2003 Camera-ready copies of accepted papers: June 2003
Notification of workshops and tutorials: July 2003 Conference & workshops/tutorials: October 13-16, 2003

High-quality papers in all IAT related areas are solicited. Papers exploring new directions will receive a careful and supportive review. All submitted papers will be reviewed on the basis of technical quality, relevance, significance, and clarity. Note that IAT 2003 will accept ONLY electronic submissions, containing both LaTeX (or MS-Word) and PostScript (or PDF) versions. The conference proceedings will be published by IEEE press. IAT 2003 also welcomes Industry Track submissions, Workshop and Tutorial prop osals. More detailed instructions and a paper submission form can be found from the IAT 2003 homepage. For further inquiries and suggestions regarding IAT 2003, please contact:

## Dr. Jiming Liu (IAT 2003)

Department of Computer Science, Hong Kong Baptist University, Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong Phone: (852) 3411-7088; Fax: (852) 3411-7892; Email: jiming@comp.hkbu.edu.hk (CC: jiming@cs.stanford.edu, jmliu@sci.hkbu.edu.hk)

A selected number of IAT 2003 accepted papers will be expanded and revised for inclusion in **Web Intelligence** and Agent Systems: An International Journal by IOS Press and in Annual Review of Intelligent Informatics by World Scientific Publishing The WIC best paper awards will be conferred on the authors of the best papers at the conference.

Mark Greaves (USA) Heikki Helin (Finland) Tu Bao Ho (Japan) Lakhmi Jain (Australia) Xiaolong Jin (HK SAR) Mueller Joerg (Germany) Stefan J. Johansson (Sweden) Catholijn Jonker (The Netherlands) David Kinny (Australia) Stefan Kirn (Germany) Daniel Kudenko (UK) JimmyH o Man Lee (HK SAR) Ruqian Lu (China) Jianchang Mao (USA) Helen Meng (HK SAR) Wee-Keong Ng (Singapore)	Tim Norman (UK) Eugenio Oliveira (Portugal) Andrea Omicini (Italy) Tuncer Oren (Canada) Ichiro Osawa (Japan) Lin Padgham (Australia) Sun Park (USA) Simon Parsons (USA) Van Parunak (USA) Paolo Petta (Austria) Alun Preece (UK) Chris Preist (UK) Omer Rana (UK) Zbigniew W. Ras (USA) Eugene Santos (USA) Michael Schroeder (UK)	Heiko Schuldt (Switzerland) Sandip Sen (USA) Onn Shehory (Israel) Amit Sheth (USA) Zhongzhi Shi (China) Carles Sierra (Spain) Marius C. Silaghi (USA) Kwang M. Sim (HK SAR) Munindar Singh (USA) Andrzej Skowron (Poland) Von-Wun Soo (Taiwan) Leon Sterling (Australia) Ron Sun (USA) Niranjan Suri (USA) Katia Sycara (USA) Tieniu Tan (China)	Huaglory Tianfield (UK) Robert Tolksdorf (Germany) Kwok Ching Tsui (HK SAR) Mihale Ulieru (Canada) Rainer Unland (Germany) Kay C. Wiese (Canada) Steven Willmott (Spain) Mike Wooldridge (UK) Jinglong Wu (Japan) Takahira Yamaguchi (Japan) Yiyu Yao (Canada) John Yen (USA) Makoto Yokoo (Japan) Kazumasa Yokota (Japan) Eric Yu (Canada) Franco Zambonelli (Italy) Chengqi Zhang (Australia)
---	---	---	---